How to Delete Twitter Account (Video & Pictures included)


It isn’t complicated to delete your Twitter account — in fact, the process is easy if you know what you’re doing.

There is no way to immediately delete your profile. Instead, the following steps will deactivate your account, after which it’s queued for permanent deletion. And you won’t be able to deactivate your account from the mobile app, meaning you need to visit the actual website to do so. Once done, Twitter will retain your data for 30 days, allowing you to log in and reactivate your account should you change your mind and decide you truly can’t live without

Is Twitter safe to use?

In a word, yes. But keep in mind Twitter’s own warning: What you share on Twitter may be viewed all around the world instantly. You are what you Tweet!

How to Delete Twitter Account (Video)

Let’s Deactivate Twitter

Deactivation puts your account in a queue for deletion from Twitter. Deactivation must be done by accessing twitter.com on the web.

How to deactivate your account

  1. On the web via twitter.com, click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu under your profile icon.
  2. Click on Deactivate your account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Read the account deactivation information. Click Deactivate @username.
  4. Enter your password when prompted and verify that you want to deactivate your account.

Before you deactivate your account, you should know

  • You do not need to deactivate your account to change your username or email address; you can change it at any time in your account settings.
  • To use a username or email address on another account, you must first change them and then confirm the change prior to deactivation.
  • When deactivated, your Twitter account, including your display name, username, and public profile, will no longer be viewable on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android.
  • For up to 30 days after deactivation it is still possible to restore your Twitter account if it was accidentally or wrongfully deactivated.

How to make your username or email address available for re-use before deactivating your account

  1. On the web via twitter.com, click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu under your profile icon.
  2. In the username field, choose a new username.
  3. In the email address field, change your email address to a new address you own.
  4. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page.
  5. Enter your password when prompted to confirm that you want to save your changes.
  6. Confirm the new email address via a link we send to you (very important!)
  7. Your email and username will now be available to use on a new account if you choose to sign up again during the 30 day deactivation period.
  8. Proceed with deactivation as listed above.

Backup Your Data Before Deleting Twitter

In case you’re feeling sentimental, you can download your Twitter archive before deleting your account. Here’s how:

Step 1: Go to twitter.com and Log In using your Twitter username and password.
How to delete Twitter-1

Step 2: In the top-right corner of your browser, click on your profile picture and then click Settings.

How to delete Twitter-2

Step 3: Scroll down the page and click Request your archive.How to delete Twitter-3

Step 4: Twitter will notify you that it has received your request and will send you an email when your archive is ready for downloading.How to delete Twitter-4

Step 5: Follow the link in the email to download your Twitter archive.How to delete Twitter-5

Twitter’s policy

Twitter collects a host of information about you. This includes:

  • Basic account information: your name, username, password, email address, and phone number
  • Contact information: if you upload or sync your address book with Twitter, Twitter will have a copy of your contacts. And if you send the Twitter team an email, the contents and any contact information in the email could be retained by Twitter for their future use.
  • Location information: if you share a tweet that publishes your physical location, Twitter will have access to this information too.
  • Payment information: if you complete a transaction through a service owned by Twitter, your payment information (e.g. card number, billing address, etc.) will be stored by Twitter. However, you do have the option of removing these at any time.
  • Links and cookies: Twitter may observe how you interact with links across their services and can use cookies to learn about your preferences. Twitter will also monitor the device, OS, and web browser you use to access their services.

How does Twitter use my information?

After collecting your information, Twitter may use it in the following ways:

  • Advertising: Twitter’s services are supported by advertising. The information collected by Twitter will be used to show you targeted ads.
  • Sharing to third parties: Twitter does not disclose your information without your consent except in special circumstances. For example, they may have to share your information with law enforcement agencies if required by legally obligated or if the company is filing for bankruptcy or is involved in a merger, acquisition, reorganization, or sale of assets.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *